SEETEST 2019, Bucarest

SEETEST 2019, Bucarest

In those hard covet times, when most of the testing events are postponed or moved online, I feel it is a great moment to do some retrospective reviews of conferences I got the chance to speak on.

https://seetest.org/index.php?page=seetest-2019

In the year 2019 I tried to achieve a slot to the SeeTest conference in Bucharest Romania. I was always thinking that this is a lot formal and ISTQB oriented conference, that is why I did not submit my papers there previously, however the opportunity to visit Romania was a reason to give it a try. I succeed with a slot to speak at SEETEST, that is South East European Software Testing Conference. May people form Poland like to visit the conference just for the nice spots, weather, and location. Great sponsors enable a 5-star hotel, summer enables great weather and locations like Romania, Bulgaria and Serbia are great places for evening walks and sightseeing.

Here You can find an overview of the conference:

To my surprise a delegation from Poland was big, and I met a lot of my friends and speakers. I was confident that it would be a great event. I could build a relationship with Cognizant and Vision, with both companies I did not have the chance to meet before.

As always I loved to attend the subjects presented by Paul Gerrard, Jan Jaap Cannegieeter, Alon Linetzki and Gjore Zaharchev. Gjore also won the best presentation award with “Cheat sheets are finally legal”.

My subject there was: “Building an Ethically Strong Organisation, with important role of QAs” and I love to combine the QA role with ethics and start discussion about ethical decisions during project delivery.

The only downside from my personal perspective was a too formal level of the afterparty. It was a great venue, superb food and live concert, however I felt that the requirement to dress more formal and behave accordingly make it a lot harder for some people to just have fun.

Hope to visit SEETEST in the future once if it gets back to be hosted offline :)